Week 11 – Back on it!

After a rough Week 10 battling with a cold, I was able to log a solid number of miles this week, finishing off by running my first trail 10k race.

After double 10+ mile long runs the weekend before, I used Monday to rest up and give my body a short break, then ran some decent cruise intervals on Tuesday. 5 miles of recovery on Wednesday were followed by my first longer recovery run of the training plan – a 90 minute effort – on Thursday.

I had to move around a few things to ensue I was able to log a long run this week, so decided to forgo Friday’s sprint intervals and instead took some more rest in preparation for 18 tough miles on Saturday. I spent a lot of these in the woods which added and extra dimension. Really fun!

On Sunday, with legs very tired from the long run, I ran in the Bucks Epic 10k trail race in Wendover Woods to celebrate turning 32. More about that here. I’m getting older, but I feel fitter than I’ve ever been.

I’m very happy to get back to full fitness and able to run as many miles as I was able to this week. Next week is an easier one to prepare for the final few weeks before tapering towards the end of October.

Cheers

JM


Here are the numbers:

Day 71 – Rest

Day 72 – 5.56 miles, 7:42/mile, 42:47 mins Cruise Intervals

Day 73 – 4.79 miles, 9:12/mile, 44:03 mins Recovery

Day 74 – 9.25 miles, 8:54/mile, 82:22 mins Long Recovery

Day 75 – Rest

Day 76 – 18 miles, 8:17/mile, 149 mins Long Run

Day 77 – 6.31 miles, 8:04/mile, 50:53 mins Bucks Epic 10k

Total: 43.9 miles

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started