Week 3 – Freedom to kick on!

It’s been another long week outside of running. The final week of school saw me say goodbye to my brilliant students as they skipped off for summer break. I’m having my classroom painted over the summer too so I spent all week pulling down everything from the walls which was a bit of a job. I’m looking forward to starting afresh and putting a new stamp on it for the next cohort, though. Until then, I’ve got 6 weeks of blissful free time to run whenever I like!

After setting a 10k PB last Sunday in Shoreditch, London, I used the data from the race to set new training zones and determine my Lactate Threshold pace. This meant that my threshold and interval workouts became just that little bit harder and faster this week and I’ve started to feel it in my legs. I’m doing a lot of work rolling out the leg muscles which I’m definitely feeling the benefit from and I also picked up some resistance bands to start adding to strength training into my schedule. I’m not a huge fan of the gym, so home-based strength stuff is what I’m all about.

On Monday, the legs were obviously very heavy from the day before so I took a day off to rest. It was certainly the right thing to do as they were still tired during the Tuesday Anaerobic Interval session but I ran well and felt good afterwards. The new zones made for a really tough workout but a very satisfying one as well!

Some more tired recovery miles followed on Wednesday. By Thursday the legs were starting to feel a bit more energised after the easy miles logged. Friday’s effort was a 4 mile Speed Play workout in the park, again a tough one considering the speed at which each 1 minute interval is now run at but it was really fun even with the slightly more slippery conditions underfoot due to the rain we’d had earlier in the day. Typical English summer weather, y’know.

I got in an easy run on Saturday once the rain stopped. I may have inadvertently stumbled onto the New Balance website as I waited and through no fault of my own, accidentally (but on purpose) bought a pair of New Balance Beacon V2‘s. I’m justifying it though as I found two voucher codes that allowed me to buy them for only £63 which is an absolute steal. Perhaps I’ll share my thoughts on them some time next week. I just need to tell Yasmin first… wish me luck!

I topped off the week with a 7 mile run at roughly marathon pace (7:30 – 7:45/mile). It felt very comfortable and I’m looking forward to getting in one or two longer Sunday runs at that pace before the Dorney Lake Half Marathon on August 11th.

A great, tough third week of training. Bring on Week 4! Follow me on Strava

JM

Here are the numbers:

Day 15 – Rest

Day 16 – 5.12 miles, 8:41/mile, 44:30 minutes Anaerobic Intervals

Day 17 – 4.24 miles, 8:46/mile, 37:13 minutes Recovery

Day 18 – 4.55 miles, 8:37/mile, 39:14 minutes Recovery

Day 19 – 4.02 miles, 8:12/mile, 33:00 minutes Speed Play Intervals

Day 20 – 4.48 miles, 8:43/mile, 39:03 minutes Recovery

Day 21 – 7.00 miles, 7:38/mile, 53:24 minutes Long Run

Total miles: 29.4 miles

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started