Week 10 – Tests and tumbles

This week has not been the greatest. Not only did I go back to work after 6 week of summer goodness (boo hoo) but I also caught the mother of all head colds and it knocked me for six. In what should have been a heavy, hard run week with a decent increase in miles, the week actually involved quite a bit of unplanned rest with a few easy runs thrown in. It wasn’t until the weekend that I was able to try to play catch up but even then it was tougher than it should have been.

I managed to run a pretty good Cruise Interval set on Tuesday, with some woodland recovery miles on Wednesday but then the fever hit and put me out of action until Saturday. I felt well enough to get out and I ran up the canal to Cassiobury Park for parkrun and back again – about 11 miles. I actually nearly ended up running an extra lap during the parkrun as I wasn’t concentrating, losing about 10 places and chance of a sprint finish in the process, but it was fun all the same. I saw out the week with an easy 11 miles with Matt in Whippendell Wood, which has recently become a favourite place to run. Took a tumble in the woods but took it like champ, no drama.

Hoping for a much more consistent one next week. Let’s go!

Cheers

JM


Here are the numbers:

Day 64 – Rest

Day 65 – 6.35 miles, 7:55/mile, 50:18 mins Cruise Intervals

Day 66 – 4.56 miles, 9:01/mile, 41:08 minutes Recovery

Day 67 – Rest

Day 68 – Rest

Day 69 – 11.56 miles, 8:01/mile, 92 mins Recovery with parkrun

Day 70 – 11.54 miles, 8:43/mile, 100 mins Long Run with Matt

Total: 34.0 miles

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started