Running on YouTube

YouTube is a great resource for running content, training and tips. It’s somewhere I find myself visiting often, usually to salivate over the latest shoes or find inspiration to get me out on my next long run. I’ve learned a lot over the last couple of years from a selection of ‘Running YouTubers’ and currently subscribe to the following. You should definitely check them out!

Kofuzi

Michael Ko, known as Kofuzi on YouTube, is a Chicago-based ‘non-elite’ runner who regularly vlogs about his daily training and races, reviews running shoes and other equipment and accesories and how he fits his own family life around his love of the sport. He’s fortunate enough to be able to shoot some stunning footage of Chicago, along the lakefront of Lake Michigan – somewhere I’ve visited and loved so it brings back some good memories. He was once generous enough to donate $70 towards my fundraising for the London Marathon, something he does often for a ‘charity runner of the week’. It’s been really interesting to follow his journey over the last few years; he’s very recently run a marathon personal best and Boston Qualifying time of 3:01:52 in Seattle and he’s become a great source of inspiration to me. Here his first look at the new Nike Vaporfly Next%:

Ben Parkes

Ben Parkes is a running coach and athlete based in London. He regularly posts training videos covering topics like running hill repeats and increasing stride length, nutrition tips and how to maximise your potential as a runner. He also posts some stunning race day videos of his achievements and goals. He’s a speedy one too – he ran 2:25 in the Valencia Marathon in late 2018. He runs a variety of races, from marathons to ultras to mountain trails. A great one to follow. Here’s how he ran Valencia:

Jami’s Reviews

Jami’s Reviews is primarily for running shoe reviews created by a guy called Jamison Michael, an ‘elite jogger’ over in the States (Texas I think?). He vlogs with a lot of humour and invites guest runners to test and review new running shoes. His videos are well made with great soundtracks. He’s another Nike fan and his videos are heavily weighted towards the brand, but other shoes do sneak in too and he always makes me want to expand my collection. Here’s his review of the New Balance Fuel Cell Rebel, a shoe I’m considering:

Vo2maxProductions

Sage Canaday (Vo2maxProductions) is another running coach offering best running form tips and run technique videos on Youtube, nutrition for runners, marathon and half marathon training advice as well as trail running, strength training, long runs, 5k training, ultramarathons and injury prevention information. He runs a 2:19 marathon so he knows his stuff. I also love listening to the podcast he records with his girlfriend on my runs to motivate and educate. Here’s his beginner marathon tips:

Seth James DeMoor

I’ve recently picked up Seth James DeMoor‘s running channel. His videos are really fun! He’s certainly a very enthusiastic fellow in love with the sport and encourages me to be the same. He shoots some spectacular footage in and around Denver, Colorado and has a running shoe collection I can only dream of. I sure wish I had mountains on my doorstep to run up! Here’s a video of his reminding us how to run smarter and stay healthy:

The Ginger Runner

Mainly a trail runner, The Ginger Runner or Ethan Newberry reviews and talks about all things fitness. From running, biking and training for all sorts of race to equipment reviews, advice videos and all around fun adventures. His videography is amazing and he’s made some brilliant longer films like ‘Where Dreams Go To Die’ – a documentary about Canadian Ultrarunner Gary Robbins attempting to conquer the Barkley Marathons, a 100+ mile event many consider to be the toughest on earth. It’s fantastic and well worth a watch. Here’s another great video to watch:

Do you have any running YouTubers that you find yourself watching? Comment below!

Follow me on Strava

JM

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started