Runner Profile #1: Tien Wilde

In the first of what I hope will be many ‘Runner Profiles’, today we meet Tien Wilde.


Hi Tien. Introduce yourself!

Hi, I’m Tien – mum, wife, teacher and in my brain a gazelle like runner but in reality more like a confused tortoise.

What marathon are you training for? How’s it all going?

I’m currently training for Berlin marathon. Training is happening – that’s probably the best way to describe it. As a teacher I had all the good plans for a summer of training but the reality is that this summer I have been in the last stages of opening a new school so training has not gone as well as I’d have hoped. In addition, what happened to the good old British summer of a couple of days of sun followed by overcast/rainy days (aka perfect running conditions). Long runs seem to have fallen on really hot days which has resulted in some demoralising moments of just not knowing how to carry on. Fortunately I have the best running buddy in Heather who keeps me going and helps take me mind off the pain/distance/heat.

Why did you choose Berlin?

Last year Heather and I did Amsterdam and I finally (at the third time of trying) got under 5 hours! So, on a high we decided to enter Berlin as a team! And that was that.

How long have you been running and how many events have you participated in?

I’ve been running for about 9 years now. I did cross country at school but more because I didn’t forget my kit on cross country days! I started running initially to get fit after my son was born and joined a brilliant running mummies group where we met in Greenwich Park and walked/ran with our babies in their buggies. I then joined a beginners 5k group which turned into a 10k and then 15k group! Then came parkrun.

What is your main motivation to run? 

Now because I love the me time; the chatty long runs with Heather and the coffee and gossip after parkrun with the Hilly Fields parkrun crew!

What do you like/dislike most about running?

What do I like? Honestly, I don’t know. I like how I feel afterwards, less how I feel during! I also really love running kit – T-shirts, shorts, leggings. Dislikes – my ageing knees.

What are your biggest achievements as a runner so far?

Running a sub 5 hour marathon in Amsterdam. 320 parkruns. Getting my husband and son to join me at parkrun (they are both hockey players but are beginning to reap the benefits of better fitness)!

Have you been injured before? If yes, what sort of injury and how did you overcome it?

I have been fortunate and not had any major injuries. I have niggly knees and twingy ankles but nothing that has stopped me from running.

Do you have a memorable running experience/story to share?

My favourite moment running was during Paris marathon. I desperately wanted to go sub 5 but it was hot. Somewhere along the Seine my brain clicked out of really angry with myself mode and clicked into – you’ve come all this way so at least enjoy it mode. I have done Hackney Half twice when it has been ridiculously hot and almost hated running by the end. I didn’t want to hate Paris so I ran/walked the final 10k or so and took a lot of selfies en route and was probably the happiest I’ve ever been after a race and not disappointed at not getting the time I’d been aiming for!

My other favourite ever moment was getting to my 250 parkruns perfectly timed to achieve at the same time as Heather. Also perfectly timed for a snowy day! But that day showed how amazing the running community and the running friends you make are because, despite the snow, so many people still turned up for parkrun and cake!

If you could give a single piece of advice to someone considering training for a marathon, what would it be?

My marathon training advice – pick a plan that fits with your lifestyle and schedule. Training is hard but be realistic about what you can do otherwise when you hit those weeks when it feels like all you do is run, eat and sleep, you will just feel guilty about all the bits on the plan that you didn’t do!

Who would you rather fight and why: 100 duck-sized horses or 1 horse-sized duck?

What? There is no winning in either case! But surely I could chase away 100 duck sized horses. 1 horse sized duck is just going to peck me with it’s massive beak!


Thank you Tien for sharing your story! Good luck in Berlin!

JM

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started